Phoebe Keever

Archive for January 29th, 2009|Daily archive page

Week 38: “Seoul-ar” New Year 2009 – Year of the Ox, Baby!

In South Korea on January 29, 2009 at 4:16 am

It’s my year…gonna be a good one! 🙂 Snowed in Seoul-not common. Everything on my “checklist” was accomplished and it was the first stress free time I’ve had in Seoul (and I often frequent this capital city).

seoul-ar-new-year-jan-09-1

Woke up Sabbath morn’ to a snowy Seoul!

snowy-seoul-ar-nye-5

Natural Self caught on camera. A miracle-no posing!

snowy-seoul-ar-nye-8

Tina, my Aussie church sister, hosted me during Seollar New Year weekend. Tina is an excellent host; don’t worry, I took notes for when it’s your turn ;).

When Sabbath ended, Tina’s Korean friends and I headed to the ice rink! The trek to the subway station alone was freezing, esp. with strong wind gusts.  Seoul ice skating rink just off the City Hall subway exit.

snowy-seoul-ar-nye-12

Skiing was a good experience, but gotta admit that I prefer ice-skating. The cold is manageable, and I can ice-skate at this rink 60 times for the same price of skiing for one day. Plus, ice skating is romantic…so of course I’d be a sucker, right? Being that I froze when I first got on the ice, having dudes grab my hand and then drag me along on the ice while they did all the work was nice. keke :-O

snowy-seoul-ar-nye-20

This is my “southern comfort” right here: $17 for a bean and cheese burrito. Yo they just don’t have burritos in Ktown (aka Korea). Sorry but Taco Bell Bean and Cheese still does the trick for me. Plus it’s a buck…but whatever…these days I’m missing mom’s home cooking and am spending increasing amounts of Korean Won to get a taste of home. Mom–when I come home–get ready. I’mma kill it all: scalloped potatoes, mushroom gravy on top of toast, potato pancakes, strawberry shortcake, blueberry muffins, REAL cheesecake none of this imitation wannabe “NY cheesecake” (OK…I’ll buy that from ‘Juniors’ restaurant in NYC not at home), homemade Spaghetti…dude, stop me now. lolz.  MUCH LOVE. I’m Out. ❤ Phoebe*