Phoebe Keever

Week 50: Blue Blossom: Masked!

In South Korea on April 22, 2009 at 5:27 am

super-blue-bible-woman-1

What shall you call me? “Yellow Dust Super Woman” “Blue-Bibled Wonder Woman”…tried to think of a fun, funky name…Mom: what do you say? Your good at word play.

********The reason for the mask: every Spring time (especially April) yellow dust sweeps over from China to South Korea. Yellow dust is pollution, dust, dirt, and a whole lot of nastiness that blows over into South Korea by way of the winds. Many people fall ill during this time. I’ve found that while the mask does not protect me from getting sick or make me ‘better,’ it definitely protects from the pollen and yellow dust and the air pollutants. For a week straight I was sneezing right and left; as soon as my alias “Blue Blossom: masked!” came out, the sneezes stopped.********

img_2680

The title is actually clever (reflexion of the author lol j/k kk ^^); the title has a double meaning. Many flix are from Cherry Blossom Street that is simply stunning for about 10 days in April. Additionally, my middle name ‘Hoa’ means ‘Blossom’ in Vietnamese. dats-mehoa-in-koreaphoebe-hoa-4The blossoms aren’t masked, but this gal is ^^

img_2691 Behind the scenes, behind the mask

img_2706 Oh No! Cover your face, you’re unmasked!

img_2721 Classic Springtime flix. Time to stop and smell the …tulips. 😉

yunjungo-cherry-blossoms-st-12Famous Cherry blossom St. in Seoul yunjungo-cherry-blossoms-st-1 yunjungo-cherry-blossoms-st-18

Flix taken by: Be Hoa

  1. yellow death sweeps over korea…it ALMOST sounds racist, out of context^^

  2. I think the Blue Blossom is a good one…and yes, the blossoms are BEAUTIFUL, as are your eyes, Miss Be Hoa. Me yeiu con gai cua me!
    BTW, I really like that blue and black outfit your wearing…Sharp!
    Shani is interested in taking the photography class at Roosevelt, like her big Sis did. She’s excited about HIGH SCHOOL. I can’t believe just a few short years and she’ll be gone! (and I’ll be all alone…what a weird thing to conceptualize!)
    Love and miss you,
    Mom

  3. Pretty pics!!! But yah, Yellow Dust season suxors. Miss you Fibi!!!

  4. Hey you went to the english village in gyeonggi? I went there last summer!

    • Actually it was the English village in Yangpyeong. Wow! You are very observant that you could actually tell it was the English Village. I was there on an SDA teacher’s retreat. Thanks for the comment 🙂

  5. I love the first pic, LOL. Those flowers look beautiful! I can’t wait to be in the presence of all that.

  6. great pics phoebe! 🙂 (and funny commentary)

Leave a comment